Skip To Main Content
2024 Elementary Summer School Information

VBCPS is offering amazing summer learning opportunity to all pre-kindergarten through fifth grade students who were enrolled in Virginia Beach City Public Schools (VBCPS) during the 2023-24 school year!

2024 Elementary Summer School Information

VBCPS is offering amazing summer learning opportunity to all pre-kindergarten through fifth grade students who were enrolled in Virginia Beach City Public Schools (VBCPS) during the 2023-24 school year!

2024-25 federal grant information presented to Virginia Beach School Board

The Virginia Beach School Board received information about proposed federal grant applications at its May 14 meeting. For the 2024-25 school year, Virginia Beach City Public Schools (VBCPS) would receive approximately $21.1 million in formula grant funds through programs authorized under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA) as amended by the Every Student Succeeds Act of 2015 (ESSA).

School Board of the City of Virginia Beach names Dr. Donald Robertson Jr. superintendent

The School Board of the City of Virginia Beach voted to name Dr. Donald Robertson Jr. as superintendent at its meeting Jan. 23. A native of Hampton Roads, Dr. Robertson began his career as a math teacher with Virginia Beach City Public Schools (VBCPS) in 1988 and progressed in leadership roles including assistant principal of Bayside High School, principal of Salem High School, chief strategy and innovation officer, chief schools officer, chief of staff and acting superintendent. 

Logo Virginia Beach City Public Schools Charting the Course

Hundreds of Virginia Beach City Public Schools (VBCPS) students will participate in the 16th Annual African American Male Summit on Jan. 20 at Frank W. Cox High School. Boys in grades six through 12 will share ideas with each other and with adult community members on topics such as student leadership, community involvement, relationship-building, and physical and mental well-being.

Quick Glance at Virginia Licensure

The information contained on this page will provide you with guidelines regarding teacher licensure and renewal procedures for a Virginia license.

Conditions for Licensure

Applicants for licensure must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • Pay the appropriate fees as determined by the Board of Education and complete the application process.
  • Have earned a baccalaureate degree (with the exception of the Technical Professional License) from an accredited institution of higher education with a Board of Education approved teacher education program.
  • Possess good moral character (free of conditions outlined in Part VII (8 VAC 20-22-690 et seq. Virginia Licensure Regulations for School Personnel).

All candidates who hold at least a bachelor's degree and who seek an initial Virginia teaching license must obtain passing scores on a professional teacher's assessment (VCLA, RVE, and Praxis II Specialty Exams when applicable) prescribed by the Board of Education. Candidates seeking a Technical Professional License or the Pupil Personnel Services License are not required to take the professional teacher's assessment. Individuals who have completed a minimum of three years of full-time, successful teaching experience in an accredited public or nonpublic school (kindergarten through grade 12) in a state other than Virginia are exempted from the assessment requirement.

Required Child Abuse and Neglect Training (CANT)

In the Commonwealth of Virginia there exists a codified requirement for all teachers to participate in specified Child Abuse and Neglect Training (CANT) prior to obtaining or renewing their licenses to teach. This training, which takes about one hour to complete, is available at no charge through web-based instruction. You are advised that completing CANT will be part of the employment process for applicants wishing to teach in any school division in Virginia. Upon completion of the training, you will need to print your certificate to use as verification of having met the requirement.

Required Emergency First Aid, CPR, and AED Training

Effective on July 1, 2013, every person seeking initial licensure or renewal of a license must provide evidence of completion of certification or training in Emergency first aid, Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), the use of automated external defibrillators (AED).

Individuals submitting an initial application for a license or a renewal request must submit official written documentation providing evidence that all three topics (emergency first aid, CPR, AED) were included in the certification or training. Waiver Requirements-Any person with a disability whose disability prevents him or her from completing the certification or training may submit a request for a waiver from the new requirement. The individual must submit a written request and provide official documentation identifying the disabling condition preventing completion or the certification or training.

For more information, see Superintendent's Memo #156-13

Types of Licenses; Dating of Licenses

All licenses will be effective from July 1 in the school year in which the application is made. The following types of licenses are available:

Alternative Route to Licensure

An alternative route is available to individuals employed by an educational agency who seek teaching endorsements Pre-K through grade 12.

  • An individual seeking a Provisional License through the alternative route must meet the requirements specified in 8 VAC 20-22-90, i.e. Career Switcher, Provisional Special Education or Experiential Learning.
  • The professional studies requirements for the appropriate level of endorsement sought must be completed. A Virginia educational agency may submit to the Superintendent of Public Instruction for approval an alternative program to meet the professional studies requirements. The alternative program must include training (seminar, internship, course work, etc.) in human growth and development, curriculum and instructional procedures (including technology), instructional design based on assessment data, classroom and behavior management, foundations of education, and reading.
  • One year of successful, full-time teaching experience in the appropriate teaching area in an accredited public or nonpublic school must be completed. A fully-licensed experienced teacher must be available in the school building to assist the beginning teacher employed through the alternative route.

Alternative programs developed by institutions of higher education (i) recognize the unique strengths of prospective teachers from nontraditional backgrounds and (ii) prepare these individuals to meet the same standards that are established for others who are granted a provisional license.

Conditions for Licensure by Reciprocity

An individual coming into Virginia from any state may qualify for a Virginia teaching license with comparable endorsement areas if the individual has completed a state-approved teacher training program through a regionally accredited four-year college or university, or if the individual holds a valid out-of-state teaching license full credential without deficiencies that must be in force at the time the application for a Virginia license is made. An individual seeking licensure must establish a file in the Department of Education by submitting a complete application packet, which includes official student transcripts. A professional teacher's assessment prescribed by the Board of Education must be satisfied.

Individuals who hold a valid out-of-state license (full credential without deficiencies) and who have completed a minimum of three (3) years of full-time, successful teaching experience in a public or accredited nonpublic school (kindergarten through grade 12) in a state other that Virginia are exempted from the professional teacher’s assessment requirements.

Teachers from another state should provide evidence that they have met another state's requirements for the No Child Left Behind Highly Qualified (NCLB HQ) status. To be considered Highly Qualified in VA, you will need a written statement from your university or school district stating that you have met the NCLB HQ requirement for another state. The statement should include the subjects/grade levels for which you are considered highly qualified and the method used, i.e. NY testing OR a passing score on the Virginia approved Praxis II specialty exam.

Who Can I Contact for Additional Information?

For additional questions regarding licensure or information on renewing a Virginia license, contact the Virginia Department of Education, Office of Teacher Education and Licensure, P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218-2120 or the VDOE website: www.doe.virginia.gov.