School Board

School Board Chair and Vice Chair

Carolyn Rye

Mrs. Carolyn T. Rye
District 5 - Lynnhaven

Kim Melnyk

Mrs. Kimberly A. Melnyk
Vice Chair
District 7 - Princess Anne

School Board Members

Sharon Felton

Mrs. Sharon R. Felton
District 6 - Beach

Jennifer Franklin

Ms. Jennifer Franklin
District 2 - Kempsville

Jessica Owens

Ms. Jessica L. Owens
District 3 - Rose Hall

Trenace Riggs

Ms. Trenace B. Riggs
District 1 - Centerville

Carolyn Weems

Mrs. Carolyn D. Weems
District 4 - Bayside

Email All School Board Members

Overview of the School Board

In accordance with the Constitution of Virginia, Article 8, Section 7, the School Board of the City of Virginia Beach, Virginia is responsible for the supervision of all public schools in the city. All eleven members of the School Board are elected in accordance with the Charter of the City of Virginia Beach and serve four year terms. Each year the School Board Members appoint a Chairman and Vice Chairman from among the eleven members. School Board Members are compensated in accordance with School Board By-laws. The general powers and duties of the School Board derive from both the Constitution of Virginia and the Code of Virginia, 1950, as amended, and School Board By-laws.

The School Board meets in open session throughout the year on a schedule adopted and published prior to each fiscal year. School Board meetings are open to the public unless the School Board specifically votes to go into closed session to discuss certain matters. Members of the public may address the School Board on both non-agenda items and agenda items. Further information on addressing the School Board during meetings can be found in Appendix B of the School Board By-laws and on this site. School Board Meetings are also televised on VBTV Cox Channel 47 and the current agenda and meeting minutes can be found on the School Division’s website.

Clerk of the Board

The clerk of the School Board is elected by the School Board upon recommendation of the superintendent and serves a one-year term beginning July 1 of each year. The clerk serves as the official recorder of business transacted at all School Board meetings and has the responsibility of preparing and maintaining the minutes of the proceedings. Currently, the clerk of the Board is Regina Toneatto.