Skip To Main Content
School Board of the City of Virginia Beach names Dr. Donald Robertson Jr. superintendent

The School Board of the City of Virginia Beach voted to name Dr. Donald Robertson Jr. as superintendent at its meeting Jan. 23. A native of Hampton Roads, Dr. Robertson began his career as a math teacher with Virginia Beach City Public Schools (VBCPS) in 1988 and progressed in leadership roles including assistant principal of Bayside High School, principal of Salem High School, chief strategy and innovation officer, chief schools officer, chief of staff and acting superintendent. 

School Board of the City of Virginia Beach names Dr. Donald Robertson Jr. superintendent

The School Board of the City of Virginia Beach voted to name Dr. Donald Robertson Jr. as superintendent at its meeting Jan. 23. A native of Hampton Roads, Dr. Robertson began his career as a math teacher with Virginia Beach City Public Schools (VBCPS) in 1988 and progressed in leadership roles including assistant principal of Bayside High School, principal of Salem High School, chief strategy and innovation officer, chief schools officer, chief of staff and acting superintendent. 

Logo Virginia Beach City Public Schools Charting the Course

Hundreds of Virginia Beach City Public Schools (VBCPS) students will participate in the 16th Annual African American Male Summit on Jan. 20 at Frank W. Cox High School. Boys in grades six through 12 will share ideas with each other and with adult community members on topics such as student leadership, community involvement, relationship-building, and physical and mental well-being.

VBCPS Calendar

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Feb 4
Mon, Feb 5
B
Tue, Feb 6
A
Special School Board Meeting
-
Wed, Feb 7
B
Governance Committee Meeting
-
Thu, Feb 8
A
Fri, Feb 9
B
Sat, Feb 10
Sun, Feb 11
Tue, Feb 13
B
School Board Meeting
-
Wed, Feb 14
A
Fri, Feb 16
A
Sat, Feb 17
Sun, Feb 18
Mon, Feb 19
Tue, Feb 20
B
Special School Board Meeting
-
Wed, Feb 21
A
Thu, Feb 22
B
Fri, Feb 23
A
Sat, Feb 24
Sun, Feb 25
Mon, Feb 26
B
Tue, Feb 27
A
School Board Meeting
-
Wed, Feb 28
B
Thu, Feb 29
A
Fri, Mar 1
B
Sat, Mar 2

Year-at-a-Glance Calendar:

two students smiling